Cumberland County

Cumberland County Map

This map is intended for general geographical understanding. It does not provide the specific locations of the farms in order to protect the owners’ privacy. Map Courtesy of Carole Swann, Tennessee Department of Agriculture.

Cumberland County was established in 1856 from the eight surrounding counties of Bledsoe, Roane, Morgan, Fentress, Rhea, Putnam, Overton, and White. Crossville serves as the county seat. The community of Grassy Cove is one of the most intact agricultural areas of Tennessee. Settled first by Revolutionary War veterans and their families, many of the early settlers’ descendents continue to live and farm in the scenic valley today. Cumberland County is also home to the Cumberland Homestead dwellings that were established during the New Deal era to provide land and homes for impoverished, deserving families who engaged in subsistence farming. In addition, the county has a nationally known Cumberland County Playhouse that serves as a cultural center for the area. For more information regarding Cumberland County, please go to the Tennessee Encyclopedia of History & Culture website.

Farm NameCountyDate FoundedSpecial Recognition
B. A. T. Angus Farm Cumberland 1898
Brady Farm Cumberland 1854
Greenberry Wilson Farm Cumberland 1808
Hendrix Farm Cumberland 1801
Homer Taylor Farm Cumberland 1899
James S. Kemmer Farm Cumberland 1906
John C. Kemmer Cumberland 1879
Little Cove Cumberland 1866
Orme Farm Cumberland 1866
R. E. Kemmer Farm Cumberland 1860