Macon County

Macon County Map

This map is intended for general geographical understanding. It does not provide the specific locations of the farms in order to protect the owners’ privacy. Map Courtesy of Carole Swann, Tennessee Department of Agriculture.

Macon County was formed in 1842 from parts of Smith and Sumner counties and was named in honor of Nathaniel Macon, a North Carolina Revolutionary War soldier, U. S. Senator and Speaker of the House of Representatives. The county seat is Lafayette. Throughout most of its history, Macon County’s economy has been largely dependent on agriculture and burley tobacco has been the most common cash crop in the twentieth century. For more information regarding Macon County, please go to the Tennessee Encyclopedia of History & Culture website.

Farm NameCountyDate FoundedSpecial Recognition
Hanes Hedges Farm Macon 1886
Hugh B. Morrison Farm Macon 1828
Jenkins Farm Macon 1804
Jenkins Sunny Slope Farm Macon 1874
Lawrence Farm Macon 1889
Massey Farm Macon 1851
McDonald,Loftis, Marsh Farm Macon 1903
Parkhurst Farm Macon 1880
Porter Farm Macon 1894
Russell Family Farm Macon 1854