Macon County

Macon County Map

This map is intended for general geographical understanding. It does not provide the specific locations of the farms in order to protect the owners’ privacy. Map Courtesy of Carole Swann, Tennessee Department of Agriculture.

Macon County was formed in 1842 from parts of Smith and Sumner counties and was named in honor of Nathaniel Macon, a North Carolina Revolutionary War soldier, U. S. Senator and Speaker of the House of Representatives. The county seat is Lafayette. Throughout most of its history, Macon County’s economy has been largely dependent on agriculture and burley tobacco has been the most common cash crop in the twentieth century. For more information regarding Macon County, please go to the Tennessee Encyclopedia of History & Culture website.

Farm NameCountyDate FoundedSpecial Recognition
Smith-Wilson Farn Macon 1917
Stinson Farm Macon 1897
Tuck Farm Macon 1840
Tucker Brothers Macon 1878
Tucker Farm Macon 1878
W.E. White Farm Macon 1828
Wheeley Springs Farm Macon 1850
White Farm Macon 1828