Smith County

Smith County Map

This map is intended for general geographical understanding. It does not provide the specific locations of the farms in order to protect the owners’ privacy. Map Courtesy of Carole Swann, Tennessee Department of Agriculture.

Smith County was established in 1799 and was named in honor of General Daniel Smith. Carthage serves as the county seat and the town’s courthouse is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. During the steamboat era, Carthage served as an important port and trade center. For most of its history, Smith County’s industry has been associated with farm products such as distilleries, grist and flour mills, tanneries, saltpeter, tobacco and timber. For more information regarding Smith County, please go to the Tennessee Encyclopedia of History & Culture website.

Farm NameCountyDate FoundedSpecial Recognition
Manning Farm Smith 1826
Mason Farm Smith 1892
Moore Farm Smith 1867
Neal Hollow Farm Smith 1865
Oldham Brothers Farm Smith 1868
P&H Farms Smith 1918
Paschal Farm Smith 1915
Paschall Farm Smith 1889
Phillips Farm Smith 1859
Pigeon Roost Road Farm Smith 1900