Williamson County

Williamson County Map

This map is intended for general geographical understanding. It does not provide the specific locations of the farms in order to protect the owners’ privacy. Map Courtesy of Carole Swann, Tennessee Department of Agriculture.

Williamson County was established in 1799 and was named for Dr. Hugh Williamson, a Revolutionary patriot and distinguished statesman from North Carolina. The county seat is Franklin. During the Civil War, Franklin and its surrounding communities suffered extreme hardships as a result of Union army occupation. During the war and Reconstruction, two of Williamson County’s most important historical cemeteries were established. The McGavock Confederate Cemetery is the largest private Confederate cemetery in America, while the Toussaint L’Overture County Cemetery is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. For more information regarding Williamson County, please go to the Tennessee Encyclopedia of History & Culture website.

Farm NameCountyDate FoundedSpecial Recognition
Bagend Farm Williamson 1848 Land Trust for Tennessee, National Register
Beech Hill Williamson 1796 National Register, Pioneer Century Farm
Blue Grass Farm Williamson 1825
Bond Farm Williamson 1870
Bud's Longview Farm Williamson 1900
Cannon Farm Williamson 1842
Cedar Lane Farm I Williamson 1897
Cedar Lane Farm II Williamson 1896 Land Trust for Tennessee
Creekside Williamson 1866
Crystal Valley Farms Williamson 1869