Fayette County

Fayette County Map

This map is intended for general geographical understanding. It does not provide the specific locations of the farms in order to protect the owners’ privacy. Map Courtesy of Carole Swann, Tennessee Department of Agriculture.

Fayette County was established in 1824 and named in honor of Marquis de Lafayette, a French general and statesman. The county seat is Somerville. Historically, the economy of Fayette County has been on agricultural production. In addition, the entire town of LaGrange, named for Lafayette’s ancestral home, is listed in the National Register of Historic Places. The county is home to the Wolf River Wildlife Management Area and the Ghost River State National Area. The best known outdoors event of the county is the National Field Trials for bird dogs that has been held annually since 1903 on the historic Ames Plantation. For more information regarding Fayette County, please go to the Tennessee Encyclopedia of History & Culture website.

Total Records Found: 25, showing 10 per page
Farm NameCountyDate FoundedSpecial Recognition
Armour Farm Fayette 1836
Bejach Farm Fayette 1840
Boswell Farm Fayette 1876
Cedar Lane Stables Fayette 1850
Chestnut Hill Fayette 1830
Crawford Farm (Old Walker Place) Fayette 1849 NR
Estanaula Oaks Fayette 1853
Farley Place Fayette 1882
H. E. Havercamp Farm Fayette 1845
Harvey Hill Fayette 1853