Fayette County

Fayette County Map

This map is intended for general geographical understanding. It does not provide the specific locations of the farms in order to protect the owners’ privacy. Map Courtesy of Carole Swann, Tennessee Department of Agriculture.

Fayette County was established in 1824 and named in honor of Marquis de Lafayette, a French general and statesman. The county seat is Somerville. Historically, the economy of Fayette County has been on agricultural production. In addition, the entire town of LaGrange, named for Lafayette’s ancestral home, is listed in the National Register of Historic Places. The county is home to the Wolf River Wildlife Management Area and the Ghost River State National Area. The best known outdoors event of the county is the National Field Trials for bird dogs that has been held annually since 1903 on the historic Ames Plantation. For more information regarding Fayette County, please go to the Tennessee Encyclopedia of History & Culture website.

Total Records Found: 26, showing 10 per page
Farm NameCountyDate FoundedSpecial Recognition
Spencer Brothers Farm Fayette 1907
Sylvan Ridge Farm Fayette 1834
Teague Farm Fayette 1870
Walter Burch Farm Fayette 1882
Wiggins Place Fayette 1859
Yancey Place Fayette 1885