Macon County

Macon County Map

This map is intended for general geographical understanding. It does not provide the specific locations of the farms in order to protect the owners’ privacy. Map Courtesy of Carole Swann, Tennessee Department of Agriculture.

Macon County was formed in 1842 from parts of Smith and Sumner counties and was named in honor of Nathaniel Macon, a North Carolina Revolutionary War soldier, U. S. Senator and Speaker of the House of Representatives. The county seat is Lafayette. Throughout most of its history, Macon County’s economy has been largely dependent on agriculture and burley tobacco has been the most common cash crop in the twentieth century. For more information regarding Macon County, please go to the Tennessee Encyclopedia of History & Culture website.

Total Records Found: 29, showing 10 per page
Farm NameCountyDate FoundedSpecial Recognition
Blair Farm Macon 1870
Burrow-Gregory Farm Macon 1836
Canada & Green Farm Macon 1907
Carr Creek Carr Farm Macon 1797
Charlie and Flora Hire Farm Macon 1909
Clearview Farm Macon 1863
Doss Farm Macon 1904
Drury Farm Macon 1835
Four J Farm Macon 1804
Goad Farm Macon 1903