Maury County

Maury County Map

This map is intended for general geographical understanding. It does not provide the specific locations of the farms in order to protect the owners’ privacy. Map Courtesy of Carole Swann, Tennessee Department of Agriculture.

Maury County was established in 1807 and was named for Abram Maury, a State Senator from Williamson County. Columbia serves as the county seat. As a result of its rich soil with its underlying layer of phosphate, Maury County has had a long history of agriculture success. Even today, the county remains a major producer of corn, wheat, grain, sorghum and cotton. In Mt. Pleasant, the high grade brown phosphate rock launched a mining industry and made the town boom. The county is also home to the Saturn Corporation and tourist attractions such as the James K. Polk house, the Athenaeum and two Civil War sites known as Rippavilla and Oaklawn. For more information regarding Maury County, please go to the Tennessee Encyclopedia of History & Culture website.

Total Records Found: 18, showing 10 per page
Farm NameCountyDate FoundedSpecial Recognition
Pleasant Valley Farm Maury 1900
Scott Hollow Farm Maury 1887
Shannon Farm Maury 1899
Tanglefoot Farm Maury 1816
The Kinzer Farm Maury 1870
Tindell Farm "North Side" Maury 1887
Tindell Farm "South Side" Maury 1887
Whistle Top Farm Maury 1819