Meigs County

Meigs County Map

This map is intended for general geographical understanding. It does not provide the specific locations of the farms in order to protect the owners’ privacy. Map Courtesy of Carole Swann, Tennessee Department of Agriculture.

Meigs County was created in 1836 and named after Return Jonathan Meigs, a colonel in the American Revolutionary War and later an Indian agent from 1801 until his death in 1823. The county seat is Decatur. Meigs County has many prehistoric and Cherokee sites because the area was initially inhabited by many generations of Native Americans. During the 1940s, the Tennessee Valley Authority brought changes to the county with the construction of Chicamauga Lake and Watts Bar Dam. For more information regarding Meigs County, please go to the Tennessee Encyclopedia of History & Culture website.

Total Records Found: 14, showing 10 per page
Farm NameCountyDate FoundedSpecial Recognition
A.K. Davis Farm Meigs 1874
Agency Creek Acres Farm Meigs 1829
Ashley Farm Meigs 1848
Dake Farm (aka Willow Oaks) Meigs 1885
E.O. McNabb Farm Meigs 1869
Griffith Place Farm Meigs 1847
Locke Farm Meigs 1820
McKeown Billingsley Farm Meigs 1832
Moore Farm Meigs 1838
Powell-Masoner Farm Meigs 1821