Rhea County

Rhea County Map

This map is intended for general geographical understanding. It does not provide the specific locations of the farms in order to protect the owners’ privacy. Map Courtesy of Carole Swann, Tennessee Department of Agriculture.

Rhea County was established in 1807 and its county seat is Dayton. Originally, the county seat was Washington, a thriving marketplace during the early nineteenth century. However, the wealth of coal, iron and limestone in the Dayton area made it a major manufacturing center that encouraged the growth of the town. As a result of its large number of citizens and its large number of employment opportunities through the iron and coal industry, Rhea Countians voted to move the county seat from Washington to Dayton in 1889. The county became internationally famous in 1925 when the Scope Trial was held in Dayton, Tennessee and the courthouse where the trial took place is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. For more information regarding Rhea County, please go to the Tennessee Encyclopedia of History & Culture website.

Total Records Found: 10, showing 10 per page
Farm NameCountyDate FoundedSpecial Recognition
Brady Farm Rhea 1906 Woman Founder
Cawood Farm Rhea 1848
Cedar Lake Beef Farm Rhea 1845
Chattin Farm Rhea 1853
Crosby Spring Farm Rhea 1879
Double S Farm Rhea 1868
Ellis Farm Rhea 1894
Galloway Farm Rhea 1899
Grassy Branch Farm Rhea 1904
Harrison Farm Rhea 1901