Rutherford County

Rutherford County Map

This map is intended for general geographical understanding. It does not provide the specific locations of the farms in order to protect the owners’ privacy. Map Courtesy of Carole Swann, Tennessee Department of Agriculture.

Rutherford County was created in 1803, from sections of Davidson, Wilson, Williamson, and Sumner counties. The county was named in honor of Griffith Rutherford, an Irish immigrant who served on the council of the Southwest Territory. The county seat is Murfreesboro, home of Middle Tennessee State University and the Stones River National Battlefield. In addition, Rutherford County has many businesses such as General Electric, National Health Corporation, Bridgestone/Firestone, and Nissan Motor Manufacturing Corporation. For more information regarding Rutherford County, please go to the Tennessee Encyclopedia of History & Culture website.

Total Records Found: 31, showing 10 per page
Farm NameCountyDate FoundedSpecial Recognition
Batey Farm Rutherford 1807
Bennett Place Rutherford 1819
Blackwell Farm Greensward Rutherford 1917
Butler Farm Rutherford 1880 African American
Caff-E-Hill Farms Rutherford 1859 NR
Castlewood Rutherford 1889
Cates Farm Rutherford 1846 NR
Drake Farm Rutherford 1857
Duggin Farm Rutherford 1815
E.S. Williams Farm Rutherford 1867