Smith County

Smith County Map

This map is intended for general geographical understanding. It does not provide the specific locations of the farms in order to protect the owners’ privacy. Map Courtesy of Carole Swann, Tennessee Department of Agriculture.

Smith County was established in 1799 and was named in honor of General Daniel Smith. Carthage serves as the county seat and the town’s courthouse is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. During the steamboat era, Carthage served as an important port and trade center. For most of its history, Smith County’s industry has been associated with farm products such as distilleries, grist and flour mills, tanneries, saltpeter, tobacco and timber. For more information regarding Smith County, please go to the Tennessee Encyclopedia of History & Culture website.

Total Records Found: 70, showing 10 per page
Farm NameCountyDate FoundedSpecial Recognition
Albert Nixon Farm Smith 1912
Allen Dairy Farm Smith 1891
Allendale Farm Smith 1864
Allison Farm Smith 1892
Armistead-Shoulders Farm Smith 1920
Arnold Farm Smith 1867
B.D. Wooten Farm Smith 1870
Baker Farm Smith 1891
Beasley Farm Smith 1870
BG Farm Smith 1892