Smith County

Smith County Map

This map is intended for general geographical understanding. It does not provide the specific locations of the farms in order to protect the owners’ privacy. Map Courtesy of Carole Swann, Tennessee Department of Agriculture.

Smith County was established in 1799 and was named in honor of General Daniel Smith. Carthage serves as the county seat and the town’s courthouse is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. During the steamboat era, Carthage served as an important port and trade center. For most of its history, Smith County’s industry has been associated with farm products such as distilleries, grist and flour mills, tanneries, saltpeter, tobacco and timber. For more information regarding Smith County, please go to the Tennessee Encyclopedia of History & Culture website.

Total Records Found: 70, showing 10 per page
Farm NameCountyDate FoundedSpecial Recognition
Gregory Hill Smith 1842
Gwaltney Home Farm Smith 1810
Harville Farm Smith 1904
Holliman's Southern Cross Farm Smith 1872
Jo Ella Kelly Farm Smith 1834
Key Farm Smith 1852
Kilzer Farm Smith 1900
Kittrell Smith 1850
Lancaster Farm Smith 1790 Pioneer Century Farm
Lancaster/O'Fallon Farm Smith 1856