Smith County

Smith County Map

This map is intended for general geographical understanding. It does not provide the specific locations of the farms in order to protect the owners’ privacy. Map Courtesy of Carole Swann, Tennessee Department of Agriculture.

Smith County was established in 1799 and was named in honor of General Daniel Smith. Carthage serves as the county seat and the town’s courthouse is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. During the steamboat era, Carthage served as an important port and trade center. For most of its history, Smith County’s industry has been associated with farm products such as distilleries, grist and flour mills, tanneries, saltpeter, tobacco and timber. For more information regarding Smith County, please go to the Tennessee Encyclopedia of History & Culture website.

Total Records Found: 70, showing 10 per page
Farm NameCountyDate FoundedSpecial Recognition
The Canter Farm Smith 1919
The Cornwell-Butler Farm Smith 1901
The Piper Farm Smith 1895
Thompson Angus Farm Smith 1857
Vallie Phillips Farm Smith 1848
Waggoner Farm Smith 1830
White Oak Farm Smith 1918
Williams-Russell Farm Smith 1902
Wright Farm Smith 1894
Young Farm of Stonewall Smith 1878